Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

A new computer; what do you think?

Admiral Refuge

Well, college starts back up again next week, and my major is computer security… So I kinda need a kickass computer (not just for school, but also for running artificial life simulations)...

If I had 4k lying around, I'd get one of those 4GHz quad core processors; it'd be ultimate for simulations!

Unfortunately, I don't have that kind of money (maybe I should get one of them "jobs")... But in the mean time, I can still get a nice computer of the net, and it'd still be tax deductible...

I need an educated opinion... What do you think of this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Core-2-Quad-Q6600-Desktop-MiNi-PC-Computer-System_W0QQitemZ400021934548QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDesktop_PCs?hash=item400021934548&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A4|65%3A15|39%3A1|240%3A1308

I'm aware it does not have an OS, but my college provided me with a free copy of Windows Vista Business (as well as XP, if I wanted to use that), among other softwares...

So yea, what do you guys think on that computer?  It does have a quad core, but it's 2.4 GHz

Yeah, the video card sucks balls. And … it seems like kind of a huge pc for college... I got a laptop when I graduated, 3GB ram, 160GB hd (500GB external), and a integrated graphics card. Personally, I think if you wanna play any kind of games, you need to get a better graphics card. If you're doing nothing but simulations, I guess it'd be ok but you can't take it to class >.<

Thanks for the input everyone!

I'm not planning on using it for games (not much of a gamer at all).

Rather, I'm going to mainly use it for programming, running simulations (the type where all you see is a black shell updating with text, but it's simulating different crap with no user interaction).