Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Mapping Tutorial (Layers & Attributes Explained)

Kalm

Well, I am going to try my best to break down ALL of the Layers and Attributes in a way anyone can understand.

**LAYERS TUTORIAL**

TILES:
Okay, first of all, everyone thinking of trying their hand at mapping should know what a Tile is.  A tile is just a picture or graphic a certain size.  All of the tiles in Eclipse are the same size when you first download and start your first Eclipse map, although their are ways of altering their size but i'm not an expert in that field.

LAYERS:
The layers of a map are ordered as follows:

* Ground
* Mask
* (Mask) Animation
* Mask 2 AKA Upper Mask
* (Mask2) Animation
* Fringe
* (Fringe) Animation
* Fringe2 AKA Upper Fringe
* (Fringe2) Animation

Okay, here's a basic breakdown of each of the 9 layers.  But before we get into those, I want to describe the layers as a whole.  The layers are exactly what they sound like, "layers".  They stack on top of each other to create a whole map.  The Ground layer is the lowest and is always on the bottom of the map while the Fringe2 layer is always on the top.  Oh yes, by the way, dissreguard the Animation layers for now.

GROUND:
The Ground layer is exactly what it says.  It is the "ground" for the map.  Tiles such as grass or dirt can be put on the Ground layer.  The Ground layer is the VERY bottom of the map ALWAYS.  If you try to put solid objects (Ex. a crate) over the grass while still in the Ground layer, you will erase the grass tile and put the object you had selected there instead.  Thus, going into our next Layer.

MASK and MASK2